You know that drunk driving in Virginia is a criminal offense, but do you know the potential penalties that you may face if you are convicted of drunk driving? If you don’t fight the charges against you then you may be subject to one or more of the consequences for driving while intoxicated in Virginia. Now is the time to learn what you may face and to fight to have your case dismissed.
Potential Consequences for a Virginia Drunk-Driving Conviction
If you are over 21 years old, Virginia law sets forth the following potential penalties for a drunk-driving, or driving while intoxicated, conviction:
- For a first offense, you will be required to pay a fine currently set at $250 minimum, you may lose your license for one year, and you will be required to have an ignition interlock device.
- For a second offense, you will be required to pay a fine of at least $500, you may lose your license for three years, and you may have to serve up to one year in jail. If the offense is within 5 years of a previous offense, then you will have to serve at least 20 days in prison; if the offense is within 10 years of a previous offense, then a prison stay of at least 10 days is mandatory.
- For your third offense, you will pay a fine of at least $1,000 and your license will be revoked indefinitely. You will have committed a Class 6 felony. If this happens within five years of a previous DUI offense, then you will serve at least six months in jail; if it happens within ten years, then your minimum jail stay will be 90 days.
Your drunk-driving arrest may result in a temporary loss of your license, but the penalties described above will not apply to you unless you are convicted of a Virginia DWI.
A Virginia Drunk-Driving Arrest is Not the Same as a Drunk-Driving Conviction – Your Case May be Dismissed
Legal consequences are probable if you are convicted of drunk driving in the Commonwealth of Virginia. You have the right to contact an experienced Fairfax DUI defense lawyer if you have been arrested (or think you might be arrested). You have the right to defend yourself and, if you qualify, to fight to have your case to be dismissed. Learn more about your rights before the consequences become your new reality.