You were overwhelmed. You didn’t know what to do. You were involved in an accident, and you left. Whether you were afraid of the potential consequences or you simply didn’t know what to do, you have now learned that you may be in trouble. You may be facing additional criminal hit-and-run charges in addition to any potential charges that stemmed from your accident. What are the consequences of a Virginia hit and run, and what should you do to protect yourself now?
Potential Virginia Hit-and-Run Sentences
The possible sentences for leaving the scene of a Virginia accident differ and depend on a number of factors, such as whether any one was hurt or killed in the crash and the extent of the property damage. Some of the possible sentences include:
- Up to 10 years in prison if the accident resulted in an injury, a fatality, or more than $1,000 in property damage. This is considered a Class 5 felony.
- Up to 1 year in jail if the property damage was less than $1,000 but more than $250. This is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Additionally, there is a loss of license that can be imposed for a misdemeanor and one that is mandatory for the felony.
Get Help from an Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyer in Virginia
If you left the scene of a Northern Virginia accident, it is important to contact a Fairfax defense lawyer as soon as possible to discuss your rights. Do not wait. Get advice today by calling (703) 385-5529 to speak with a Fairfax hit and run lawyer.